Grey Gables Barn


At a glance

Large five bedroom family-friendly holiday home in the Cotswolds with a tranquil garden

Sleeps Sleeps 12
Bedrooms Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms Bathrooms 3
Garden Garden
Family friendly Family friendly
Fireplace/Wood Burner/Flame Effect Stove Fireplace/Wood Burner/Flame Effect Stove
Large groups Large groups
Non-smoking Non-smoking
Off street parking Off street parking
Pub nearby Pub nearby
Shop nearby Shop nearby
Village Village
WiFi WiFi


Grey Gables Barn is an elegantly refurbished barn conversion, which sleeps 11+1 guests, in five well-appointed bedrooms, with the +1 option being a pull out single bed, with three spacious bathrooms. Built from Cotswold stone, this quintessential Cotswold holiday home has a wealth of character features including exposed Cotswold stone walls, oak beams, and wood burning stoves in both of the sizeable living rooms. The property has been lovingly furnished in a contemporary, warm style, in keeping with the age of the property, and the traditional character is complemented by modern facilities. The rooms flow seamlessly into one another on the ground floor, with plenty of comfortable seating, a well equipped kitchen with dual fuel Aga and a fabulous dining area. To the rear of the barn is a tranquil garden, perfect for sunny summer days whilst enjoying some al fresco dining.

This five bedroom holiday home in Bourton-on-the-Water is perfectly suited for those looking to get together with family and friends, exploring the local countryside and eateries. The Cotswold accommodation is laid out as follows:

Ground Floor

Drawing room
A spacious and sunny aspect room with exposed stone walls, oak beams, wooden floor, cosy wood burning stove, two large sofas and a matching love seat, plus a Smart TV with a DVD player, and a stereo with a CD player

Dining room
This beautifully presented room adjoins the drawing room, and is home to a large wooden dining table with seating for 12 and coordinating sideboard. There is direct access to the kitchen, making this an ideal space for entertaining

Stylish and well equipped with a dual fuel Aga and gas hob, an American style fridge/freezer, wine cooler, microwave, kettle, toaster, dishwasher and a breakfast bar with four stools

Utility room
Washing machine and a sink

Elegantly furnished with flagstone flooring and bi-fold doors, which open directly out to the garden. Amenities include a cosy wood burning stove, large L-shaped sofa, plus a large Smart TV and DVD player, and a stereo with CD player

Bedroom 5 (Sleeps 2)
Bright and airy ground floor bedroom, with exposed Cotswold stone, wooden flooring, two single beds, clothes hanging unit, full length mirror and a hair dryer

Loo and basin

First Floor

Master bedroom with ensuite (Sleeps 2)
A spacious and well-presented room, with a super king size bed, fitted wardrobes, dressing table, wooden rocking chair, hair dryer and a wall mounted Smart TV
Ensuite with walk-in shower, loo and basin

Bedroom 2 (Sleeps 2)
A comfortable size bedroom, with exposed oak beams, king size leather sleigh bed, wardrobe, hair dryer and a full-length mirror

Bedroom 3 (Sleeps 2)
Characterful room, with oak beams and a vaulted ceiling, which contains two single beds, freestanding hanging unit, hair dryer and a full-length mirror

Family bathroom
Bath with an overhead shower, loo and basin

Second Floor

Bedroom 4 with ensuite (Sleeps 2+2)
Large and tastefully decorated bedroom, with a king size bed, single bed, and an additional pull out single bed (available on request), chest of drawers, built-in wardrobe, mirror and a hair dryer
Ensuite with walk-in shower, loo and basin

Surrounded by a pretty Cotswold stone wall, the tranquil enclosed garden comprises of a patio area with a large outdoor table with seating for eight, charcoal barbecue and a small lawn area. A raised, covered fish pond, decorated with garden statues is located at the end of the lawn

Floor Plan Grey Gables Barn Floor Plan

The Finer Details

  • ?Bed linen and towels are provided
  • Off street parking is available for up to 4 cars
  • 1 travel cot and 1 hair chair are available on request (please bring your own linen for the travel cot, as this is not provided) 
  • Sorry, no pets
  • Free WiFi
  • Mobile phone reception is variable
  • 3 x Smart TVs
  • Enclosed garden
  • Charcoal BBQ (guests are responsible for providing charcoal and cleaning BBQ after use)
  • Gas central heating system
  • Starter supply of wood provided for the wood burning stove from October to April only
  • The property is laid out over two floors and there is a raised, covered pond in the garden, which parents with young children should be aware of
  • The smoke and CO detectors operate on a sound only basis and, therefore, those who have serious impairment of hearing may not be able to hear the alarm systems and could be at risk
  • No smoking or vaping is permitted throughout the property

Things to Note...
  • The maximum occupancy for this property is 11+1 guests. Infants do not count towards the occupancy figure, however, due to space restrictions the occupancy can only be exceeded by 3 additional infants
  • Hen and Stag parties are not permitted, though other same sex groups can enquire
  • Commercial and work related bookings are not permitted
  • Events are not permitted without prior consent
  • A security deposit is required at this property
  • Check in is from 17:00 and check out is by 10:00
Security Deposit

A security deposit of £250 is required for bookings at this property. This amount will be pre-authorised on your credit card 7 days prior to your arrival date, providing no damage is reported the pre-authorisation will be released 5 days after your departure. For the avoidance of doubt, guests are requested to leave the property in a reasonable condition, consistent with the property's appearance upon arrival.

Virtual Tour

Booking & Payment

StayCotswold is a marketing agent and therefore does not own any of the cottages listed on our website. In terms of cleaning and maintenance, the properties within our portfolio are managed by a third party property manager or the property owner – your pre-arrival email will contain confirmation and contact details for the person managing your property. Bookings made via us form a legal agreement directly between you and the property owner.

For bookings commencing more than 8 weeks in advance, a 30% non-refundable deposit is required to confirm the booking. The balance payment is then due 8 weeks prior to arrival.

All payments are made subject to the cancellation policy set out in the standard Booking Conditions.

Location Information

Grey Gables Barn is located close to the heart of the picturesque village of Bourton-on-the-Water, often referred to as the ‘Venice of the Cotswolds’, it is surrounded by picturesque countryside with excellent walking routes from the doorstep. Guests have a variety of well regarded country inn's, restaurants and shops just moments from the doorstep! Why not enjoy a delightful meal or drinks at Smiths Bar and Restaurant or The Mouse Trap Inn. For a delicious breakfast we suggest Smalltalk tearooms or a coffee from A'moore Coffee House.
For your shopping essentials, there is a local Co-Op in Bourton-on-the-Water.
Bourton is ideally situated in the North Cotswolds, perfect for exploring the many attractions and stunning nearby towns and villages, Stow-on-the-Wold, Moreton-in-Marsh, Broadway and Burford to name a few.


Location excellent, parking adequate, arrival pack very good, instructions on entry all good. Layout of property perfect for our group. Outside dining area excellent. Plenty of crockery etc kitchen very well stocked. One or two large cobwebs suggest a better clean next time. The only criticism is the lack of recycling. We brought all our bottles home.Wifi is slow but that wasn’t a problem for us as the weather was so good no one stayed indoors!

Thank you for your review, Margot. We’re pleased that you found the Bourton-on-the-Water location to be excellent, with the bonus of private off-street parking. Also, that Grey Gables Barn had everything your family needed for a relaxing get together. We appreciate your feedback and suggestion which we have shared with the property manager, thank you. We hope to see you again sometime!

- StayCotswold, 25 August 2022

It's a lovely house in a great location with plenty of crockery, glasses and cutlery. But the stay was let down by miserly supplies of liquid hand soap, toilet rolls and coat hangers.I was lucky enough to stay in the largest bedroom with 2 walls of built in wardrobes and cupboards. Across 6 wardrobes there was a total of 2 coat hangers plus 2 broken ones. In the 2 upstairs bathrooms there was about a fifth of a bottle of liquid handsoap in each bathroom for 4 days with 6 people sharing the 2 bathrooms. The overall feel of the place was it was run as a business with no warmth, no welcoming touches. You can buy liquid hand soap for 50-60p a bottle in Aldi. You had supplied yours from Aldi as they were Lacura just a slightly better version and Tescos. Would it kill you to supply full ones. Two toilet rolls were supplied for each bathroom for the 4 days for 3 people to share. Are we meant to raffle them? Also how much would it cost for a little card with a welcome note and a plate of biscuits and some tea and coffee? We left lots of tea bags for the next guests - they'll think they're from you.. Am really put off by your nickel and diming the operation. I would recommend the property to others as the location was brilliant and the property well kept and overall well supplied, but your running it as a hard nosed business operation is very off-putting and to be expected to bring supplies of soap, toilet rolls and coat hangers for the price you're charging is a bit thick. Also you had one double plug socket at the bed end of the whole master bedroom. So you also need to bring an extension lead. You couldnt actually dry your hair and look in a mirror to see what you were doing as the socket was too far away from the dressing table. You had to go onto the landing instead. Also couldn't get the tv to work in the master bedroom. Found the manual in a cupboard but couldnt get any channels. Why dont you leave some notes? Trish one of Elspeth's guests - who was rather disappointed especially as I chose the place.

Thank you for your comment about “recommending the property to others as the location was brilliant and the property well-kept and overall well supplied”. The position of the property in the centre of Bourton on the Water is fantastic. Thank you also for the perfect scoring on cleanliness, customer service, cleanliness and condition. We are sorry that you were disappointed as everything was not as you had expected. Typically, self-catering properties provide a starter pack of household supplies for guests to use while they settle in but these, depending on the size of the party, are not expected to last for the whole stay. If there are any issues any issues with the accommodation, we recommend guests contact the property manager as they are on hand to help you during your stay would have been happy to provide additional hangers, an extension lead, and advise on how to operate the television. Thank you taking the time to bring these items to our attention, we will pass your comments and suggestions on to the owner and property manager for the benefit of future guests.

- StayCotswold, 11 July 2022


{{ month }}
{{ day.dayOfMonth }}£{{ day.price.toFixed(2) }}
Your dates are available!
Your dates are not available
{{ formatDate(startDate) }} - {{ formatDate(endDate) }}
Total £{{ price.basePrice.toFixed(2) }} £{{ }}
Contact us for prices
Book Now
As your stay is due to commence within the next 5 days, please call our team on 01993 259 444 or email in order to confirm your last minute arrival.
Check-in day
Selected date
You can arrive and depart on any day you like, for 2 nights or more, however if you select Monday and/or Friday as your changeover days, you will achieve the optimum price.
Enjoy a family fun day out at one of the many attractions in Bourton, including The Model Village, Birdland and the Cotswold Motoring Museum!
Check Availability